Mental Breaks

I wanted to take a break from all the knitting posts to have a little vent about how life is going right now.

At the start of this year I had really high hopes that it would be better than 2016. 2016 was one hell of a year, in a not good way, for my family. However, a couple of weeks ago we found out that my grandpa has stomach cancer.

He and I are very close. My father is present but he has never been the involved and caring dad that a one (generally) wants. My Pocie (my grandpa’s nickname) is my grandpa and dad all wrapped up into one. When he called to tell me about it, I did not take the news well at all. Even now, after knowing for a couple of weeks and coming to terms with it slightly, I get choked up and teary at the drop of a hat. I never know what is going to make me get emotional . For instance, earlier I was listening to the soundtrack of the live action Beauty and the Beast movie (which the movie is AMAZING, btw) and the new song ‘Evermore’ made me cry.

Working day after day while trying to cope with the news has been rough. I constantly feel dazed and cloudy, get distracted easily (as if this wasn’t already a problem for me). But by far the hardest part of this is that I have really started to question why I am here, doing work, instead of being with family, and living life. Nothing like a cancer diagnosis to make you re-think everything. Trying to keep a positive outlook.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

