#2 – Kissing Cousins Rather than Sisters

First off, a little brag – I am on track for the BoxoSoxKAL!

This past weekend I finished my second pair of socks for 2017 – pretty vanilla socks with contrasting heels, toes and cuffs. I used some left overs from my Cascade Heritage Solids in Teal with my Malabrigo Sock in Anniversario.

img_0390_medium

I loved the Malabrigo in the hank and was expecting the socks to look a lot like the hank. However, that is not the case. These two socks barely look related and while this would normally really bother my OCD, I really like the difference between the two.


There are parts of the these socks that, to me at least, just look like a color palette created straight from a Claude Monet painting. [Monet by the way is one of my favorite artists.] They will forever hold a special place in my heart. Doesn’t hurt that they are cozy a.f.!

*For the heels I did a modified version of the Fish Kiss Lips Heel that I discussed in my previous post.

Pair #3, I am thinking of doing a vanilla sock with my Shirsty Cat Just Sock yarn in Left or Leaving (pictured below) because I would like to simultaneously participate in my first Mystery Knit Along (MKAL) for the Pinnacles and Turrets Socks. The MKAL doesn’t start until March 1st but the first synopsis of the pattern indicates that there is cabling and textured patterns involved so I want the other pair of socks that I am working on to be straight knitting. Also, for the MKAL I will need to get a solid or tonal yarn for the socks so that it highlights the pattern. Darn, I will need to buy yarn! Ha

img_0083_medium2

Leave a Reply

