Knitting for Charity

A couple of my goals for this year is to make a scrappy worsted weight blanket for my little sister and to use up my older stash yarn. All of this yarn happens to be older acrylic yarn that I have had for several years and used to learn on. I have decided how to do this over the next year.

Scrappy blanket: I will use this crochet pattern as the base idea for the scrap blanket. However, I will only hold double the worsted yarn – combining two different yarns and adding in another color when one runs out. As for the crochet stitch, I might use the clusters from the Granny Stripe blank or use my A to Z book of crochet stitches to find something relatively simple but pretty, since I am not much of a crocheter.

Rest of worsted stash: For whatever happens to be left of my worsted weight stash I have decided to use for hats and scarves/cowls to donate to homeless or women’s shelters. If anyone knows of a program already in place for such donations in Manhattan please let me know!


Also, if anyone has great simple and quick patterns for either of the above, feel free to share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

