Tracking and Planning for the Future

For the past several years I have been a big planner girl, carried it with me everywhere and used it for everything. I thought I had come up with the perfect solution for how I wanted to use my plan in 2017 but I will be honest, it has been a BIG FAIL!

My initial plan:

I bought a A5, 6-ring planner from Carpe Diem via the Reset Girl and was in love with it. In the A5 planner I was going to utilize undated Daily Planning pages from Day Designer in tandem with Bullet Journal-esque Collections. In my mind this was going to be the perfect mixture of my need to make lists as well as my need to write everything down so that I don’t forget it.


Buttt… I never ordered the daily pages and I spent a lot of time setting up collection and annual tracker pages for things but I haven’t really been using them.

Current method:

I think it is the size of the A5 planner (i.e., too big) that really discourages me from taking it everywhere with me like I have my previous planners. As a solution I bought a set of 3 cute (and small) notebooks from TJ Maxx at a really good price. In that I have been keeping dates, weekly tasks and tracking water intake. For my work tasks I have a Steno pad that I keep daily tasks and hours on.


The work bit seems to work really well for me. However, I am not happy with the current personal planning piece of it.

Game plan for future planning:

I think that I will change my personal planning system to keep the small notebook that fits so conveniently in any handbag for weekly tasks and errands, note any important dates or personal appointments. My A5 planner would only contain the monthly planning pages and the collections that I previously created. Additionally, I think that I will start using the Fitbit app religiously again to track food and water intake on a daily basis.

In efforts to keep up with my goals for 2017 I feel that I need to incorporate a digital calendar (which I am historically awful at) to help me keep track of everything on the go. Generally for a digital calendar I have used iCal because it is the most convenient – does anyone know of a digital calendar that generally helps them be more productive?

Leave a Reply

