#1 – Yay for Socks in less than a Month!

My first pair of socks for the BoxoSox KAL are the Hermione Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder.

These are only my 4th ever pair of socks, which considering that the first two pair took about a year a piece to knit, I am very proud of the fact that these socks came together in less than a month. They are also only my 2nd ever two-at-a-time socks.

General sock knitting background: About 3-4 years ago, I got some sock yarn (because who doesn’t love sock yarn?!) from a Hobby Lobby or JoAnn’s with the determination to teach myself how to knit socks. I followed the generic vanilla pattern on the inside of the label. As a result, I started out knitting socks on DPNs which has since become my LEAST favorite way to do socks. The problem with knitting on DPNs for me was that I would finish one sock in a reasonable time but then it would take months for me to get around to ever starting the second one. After two pairs that way, I decided to try my hand at two-at-a-time socks using Magic Loop. The first pair knit with this method are not my favorite and as a result they ended up as “footies.” There is some laddering on each of the socks but just in general the size is all wrong. And enter the Hermione Everyday Socks…

First of all, the yarn I used for these is pretty delicious – a nice, neutral, soft and squishy tweed that ending up adding a tonal visual texture to the socks. Secondly, the pattern repeat for the Hermione socks is pretty simple and easy to memorize. This made it incrediably friend for knitting while commuting, standing, talking, drinking, socializing, etc. I am in love with the finished product. For not a lot of effort, the socks look a bit fancy because of the texture.

Lastly, I wanted to provide a little synopsis/review of the pattern since I kind of combined a couple of sock techniques. The base pattern was of course the Hermione Everyday Socks pattern on Ravelry (it is free by the way, you should check it out!). The pattern is written for cuff-down socks and that is how I knit them up but I think you could easily adapt for a toe-up version. I tried out a rounded toe, also included in the pattern. I like the way it fits my foot much better than a short row toe. But let’s get down to the important part – the heel. I did a German Short Row heel (tutorial here) and used Mina Philipp’s Mini Heel Flap Adjustment (MHFA). [Side note: Mina Philipp is the Knitting Expat Podcaster/designer and is awesome, just in case you didn’t know.] The MHFA is a paid-for-pattern in her ‘Vanilla Sock Recipe’ pattern, only $2 and is 100% worth it.

Next on-the-needles: plain vanilla socks in Malabrigo Sock – Anniversario with contrasting heels, toes, and cuffs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

